History WDSF

1935 Fédération Internationale de Danse pour Amateurs (FIDA) is founded in Prague, CZE.
1956 FIDA is dissolved.
1957 IDSF is founded under the name of International Council of Amateur Dancers (ICAD) in Wiesbaden, GER.
1960 First TV broadcast of a DanceSport competition airs in Germany.
1990 ICAD changes its name to International DanceSport Federation.
1992 IDSF becomes a member of the General Association of International Sports Federations (SportAccord).
1995 IDSF and DanceSport are provisionally recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). World Rock 'n' Roll Council (WRRC) joins IDSF.
IDSF becomes a member of the the International World Games Association (IWGA).
1997 IDSF and DanceSport are granted full recognition by the 106th Session of the International Olympic Committee in Lausanne, Switzerland.
IDSF becomes a member of the Association of IOC Recognised International Sports Federations (ARISF).
IDSF enters into a representation agreement with the International Management Group IMG for the production and worldwide distribution of DanceSport television coverage.
DanceSport premieres in The World Games held under the auspices of IWGA and the patronage of the IOC.
2001 IDSF establishes an Anti-Doping Commission and subscribes to the World Anti-Doping Code.
2003 IDSF creates the Grand Slam Series for Latin and Standard.
2004 International Dance Organisation (IDO) joins IDSF.
2006 IDSF establishes an Athletes' Commission and a Disciplinary Council.
2007 IDSF celebrates the golden jubilee of its founding at the Annual General Assembly (AGM) held in Barcelona, ESP.
IDSF presents its development plan VISION 2012 to the AGM.
IDSF launches the Eurovision Dance Contest in association with the European Broadcasting Union.
IDSF assists professional athletes in creating their own organisation, the International Professional DanceSport Council (IPDSC), and collaborates with it in all matters pertaining to competitions, rules and compliance with the Anti-Doping Code.
2008 IDSF starts implementation of the VISION 2012 plan.
2009 IDSF VISION 2012 Working Group meets for the first time.
IDSF beats all existing attendance records with the DanceSport events at The World Games 2009 Kaohsiung, TPE.
IDSF draws up the first blueprints for games of the artistic sports under the working title “Sport & Art” and involves SportAccord in their development.
2010 IPDSC dissolves and becomes the IDSF Professional Division. IDSF urges all National Member Bodies to organise tournaments for professional athletes within their competition structures.
DanceSport premieres in the Asian Games held in Guangzhou, China.
2011 The IDSF Annual General Meeting held in Luxembourg agrees to change the name of the federation to World DanceSport Federation - WDSF.
2013 The World DanceSport Games were held in Kaohsiung, Taipei.
2016 On 6th December Breaking was accepted into the 2018 Youth Olympic Games.
2017 Marked the 60th Anniversary for the WDSF.